Bible
History Archeology

A large amount of biblical, historical and archaeological resources

is currently being translated…

Suggested by Théo Truschel

The Four Temples in the Bible

The Four Temples in the Bible

A philistine cemetery

The Tabernacle in the desert

The arch of Titus

Archaeology linked to the biblical world

Archaeology linked to the biblical world

The stele of Mesha

The Samaritan’s Easter feast

The two silver Rolls

Welcome to the website
Bible, History & Archeology

Few subjects of study are as controversial as the relationship between archaeology and the biblical world. The encounter between these two fields raises passionate debates concerning history, politics and religion.


Video
: general view of the mosaic in Lod, Israel, as it is being cleaned after its discovery in 1996. © wideweb/Ponds5. © wideweb/Ponds5.

Video Player For over a century and a half, archaeological sites have been established in Middle Eastern countries and yet many essential questions still have not been answered. The historical nature particularly, of many of the events recorded in the Scriptures, is far from being established.

The present investigation focuses on archaeological findings which relate to the biblical world. We have decided to present a selection of archaeological sites and artefacts which have a reliable connection to Scriptural content.

Moreover, some of the fundamental methods of this science were developed in this very context: the British scientist Flinders Petrie, for example, used stratigraphy for the first time in 1890 at the archaeological site of Tell el-Hesi in Judea.

Today, technological advances such as dendrochronology, thermoluminescence, archaeomagnetism, etc… have made it possible to apply increasingly sophisticated methods. Recent discoveries therefore shed light on events or periods of history which have little documentation outside the Bible, and this in all fields, whether political, administrative or religious.

The scene of our investigation is a vast geographical area that includes, in addition to Palestine, the entire Near and Middle East, which forms the backdrop of Hebrew history. The books relating to the birth of Christianity however concern only a part of the Mediterranean Near East, as well as Greece and Italy.

The period in question stretches from the second millennium before the Christian era, at the time of Abraham and the Patriarchs, to the beginning of the first millennium of our era, during the Roman epoch.

New Posts & Current Events

Stay up to date on all the news on our website and the latest published resources
by subscribing to our monthly newsletter and Facebook page.
Last information: October 18, 2020.

Menu

Bible
Histoire  Archéologie

Un grand nombre de ressources bibliques, historiques et archéologiques

is currently being translated…

Proposées par Théo Truschel

Temple d’Hérode le Grand

Temple d’Hérode le Grand

Un cimetière philistin

Le Tabernacle au désert

L’arc de Titus

L’archéologie liée au monde biblique

L’archéologie liée au monde biblique

Étude de la Torah

La fête de Pâque chez les Samaritains

Une mosaïque à Lod, Israël

Bienvenue sur le site
Bible, Histoire et Archéologie

Peu de sujets d’étude sont aussi controversés que la relation qu’entretient l’archéologie avec le monde biblique. La rencontre entre ces deux domaines soulève des débats passionnés qui touchent à l’Histoire, la politique et la religion.

Vidéo ci-contre : vue générale de la mosaïque de Lod, en Israël, en cours de nettoyage après sa découverte en 1996. © wideweb/Ponds5.

Depuis plus d’un siècle et demi, les chantiers archéologiques se succèdent dans les pays du Proche et Moyen-Orient, et pourtant, de nombreuses questions essentielles n’ont pas encore trouvé leur réponse. Le caractère historique, en particulier, de bien des évènements relatés dans les Écritures est loin d’être établi.

La présente investigation se concentre sur les découvertes archéologiques en rapport avec le monde biblique. Le choix a été fait d’y présenter une sélection de sites archéologiques et d’artefacts ayant un lien fiable avec le contenu narratif des Écritures.

D’ailleurs, certaines des méthodes fondamentales de cette science ont été développées dans ce contexte : c’est par exemple le cas de la stratigraphie que le savant britannique Flinders Petrie appliqua pour la première fois, en 1890, sur le site archéologique de Tell el-Hesi en Judée.

Aujourd’hui les progrès technologiques comme la dendrochronologie, la thermoluminescence, l’archéomagnétisme, etc. permettent d’appliquer des méthodes de plus en plus sophistiquées. Les découvertes récentes mettent ainsi en lumière des évènements ou des périodes de l’Histoire peu documentées en dehors de la Bible, et ce dans tous les domaines, politiques, administratifs ou religieux.

Le théâtre de notre enquête est un vaste ensemble géographique qui comprend outre la Palestine, tout le Proche et Moyen-Orient, qui constituent l’arrière-plan de l’histoire des Hébreux, tandis que les livres relatant la naissance du christianisme ne concernent qu’une partie du Proche-Orient méditerranéen, ainsi que la Grèce et l’Italie.

La période concernée débute au second millénaire avant l’ère chrétienne, avec l’époque d’Abraham et des Patriarches, pour s’achever au début du premier millénaire de notre ère, durant l’époque romaine.

Nouveautés & Actualités

Restez informés des dernières découvertes historiques et archéologiques,
en consultant notre infolettre mensuelle.
Dernière information 18/10/2020.

Plan du site

Sites partenaires

www.alphabets.org 

CONTACT

10 + 9 =